Kids & Tweens

Check our calendar for all upcoming programs!

3D Design and Printing (Grades 3-5)
Design a 3D project in Tinkercad.  You will be emailed when your project has been printed and is ready to be picked up from WNPL. New and experienced designers welcome. Registration is required. Wed., Dec. 28.

 

 

 

All About Unicorns (Grades K-5)
Drop by The Point for special activities and crafts to celebrate all things unicorn (and maybe a narwhal or two)! Registration not required. Sun., Jan. 15.

 

 

 

 

American Girl Book Club (Grades 3-5)
Fans of the American Girl® books and characters are invited to come and celebrate a variety of cultures and crafts. Each month we will discuss a specific American Girl® and her story. You don’t have to read the books beforehand, but you will want to afterward! Registration is required. Thurs., Jan. 12; Thurs., Feb. 2; Thurs., Mar. 2.

 

 

 

Cricut Card Making for Tweens (Grades 4-6)
Make a Present Pop-up Card on WNPL’s Cricut Maker! All skill levels welcome. Registration is required. Mon., Feb. 20.

 

 

 

Gaming in The Point (Grades K-5)
Join us in The Point after school to play video games on the Nintendo Switch. Registration not required. Wed., Dec. 14; Wed., Jan. 11; Wed., Jan. 25; Wed., Feb. 8; Wed., Feb. 22.

 

 

 

Hour of Code: Hello World (Grades 2-5)
Join us in The Point to learn the basics of computer science by programming in Sprite Lab. You will create and animate sprites and make your own interactive scenes. Registration is required. Mon., Dec. 5.

 

 

 

Kids in the Kitchen
Get your whisk, mixing bowl and join WNPL librarians online as they demonstrate something fun for kids to do in the kitchen. Parent or caregiver supervision and help is required. Registration not required. Sat., Dec. 17; Sat., Jan. 28; Sat., Feb. 11. For a playlist of past Kids in the Kitchen, click here.

 

 

 

Kids Yoga (Grades K-5)
Dance, sing, and play while learning basic yoga poses, mindfulness, and meditation!  Please wear comfortable clothes and consider bringing a water bottle.  If you have one, please bring a yoga mat from home.  Class is led by a WNPL staff member who is a certified kids yoga teacher. Registration is not required. Tues., Jan. 17; Tues., Feb. 14.

 

 

 

Lego WeDo 2.0 logoLEGO® WeDo 2.0 (Grades K-5)
Combine LEGO® bricks, sensors, and software to build your own robots! Meet in The Point to practice STEAM principles, preliminary engineering, and coding skills. Registration is required. Wed., Jan. 18; Wed., Feb. 15

 

 

 

LEGO® Spike Prime (Grades 5-8)
Build and code a robot using LEGO® Spike prime. Registration is required. Sat., Feb. 18.

 

 

 

Minecraft® Gaming with iPADs (Grades 3-5)
Join us in the Point after school to play Minecraft® on our own Minecraft® LAN Server using our iPads. Registration is required. Wed., Jan. 18; Wed., Feb. 15.

 

 

 

Sphero Bolt (Grades 5-8)
Code Sphero Bolt, a robotic ball, through an obstacle course. Registration is required. Sat., Jan. 21.

 

 

 

Sphero Indi (4-5 years with caregiver)
Sphero indi is a robotic toy car that’s designed to teach young children about the fundamentals of programming. Indi is an easy and fun intro to robotics that uses color tiles for programming. Registration is required. Sat., Jan. 21; Sat., Feb. 18.

 

 

 

STEAM Ahead: Black History Month
Stop by The Point on Thursdays after school for a quick STEAM activity that celebrates Black History Month. Registration not required. Thursdays, Feb. 2, 9, 16, and 23.

 

 

 

Take-n-Make Mondays (Grades K-5)
Stop by the Youth Services Desk and take a craft to go! Check WNPL’s online calendar for the craft of the month. While supplies last. Registration not required.

 

 

 

Tinker Tech Tuesdays: 3DOODLER 3D Pens (Grades K-5)
Stop by The Point any time during the program to play with some fun tech toys. Registration not required. Tues., Dec. 27.

 

 

 

Tinker Tech Tuesdays: SPHERO Bolt (Grades K-5)
Stop by The Point any time during the program to play with some fun tech toys. Registration not required. Tues., Jan. 3.

 

 

 

Tinker Tech Tuesdays: Circuit Maze and Littlebits (Grades K-5)
Stop by The Point any time during the program to play with some fun tech toys. Registration not required. Tues., Feb. 21.

 

 

 

Tween Craft Kits: Make a Gift (Grades 3-5)
Stop by the Youth Services Desk and take a craft to go! While supplies last. Registration not required. Sat., Dec. 10.

 

 

 

Tween Craft Kits: Cozy Cup (Grades 3-5)
Stop by the Youth Services Desk and take a craft to go! While supplies last. Registration not required. Sat., Jan. 14.

 

 

 

Tween Craft Kits: Valentine Owl (Grades 3-5)
Stop by the Youth Services Desk and take a craft to go! While supplies last. Registration not required. Sat., Feb. 11.